Should kids be expected to eat outside in inclement weather?

If they are Not allowed to play outside, they should Not be allowed to eat outside.

At the start of the school year our elementary school implemented a new policy. This new policy seems harmless, all kids except kindergartners will be eating outside for breakfast and lunch.  Not a problem but when it is 101 degrees outside all the parents I talked to assumed that their child were inside eating since it is too hot for the kids to play outside they can not expect them to eat outside right? Well I asked my kids more than once since it has been too hot for recess more than once already this year and yes they make them eat outside.

So I go into the office to find out if what I’m being told is true and make sure in the rain they plan on having them eating inside. Much to my dismay I’m told that rain or shine they plan on making the kids eat outside, on picnic tables with a metal covering, covering that has gaps in between which I have witnessed does Not keep the water out.  The office has no problem with making these kids, 1st thru 6th graders, eat outside when they themselves would never think to eat outside in the inclement weather.

I don’t think I’m expecting too much when I say if you don’t allow them to play outside they shouldn’t eat outside! But the school thinks I am, I spoke to some parents that were not aware the kids were expected to do this, and some (very few) had no problem with the heat but when they found out that it even applied in the rain, their attitude did a 180.

What do you think?  Should they be allowed to force the kids to eat outside even when it is considered inclement weather for playing outside?

Leave a comment